Shortlisted for The Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript 2022

Awards, Eta Draconis 31.07.2022
Copyright Agency Cultural Fund The Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, UWA Publishing.

Brendan Ritchie’s unpublished manuscript, Eta Draconis, has been shortlisted for The Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript. The esteemed judging panel for the Award run by UWA Publishing (UWAP), in partnership with The Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, included Tony Hughes-d’Aeth, Leni Shilton, Astrid Edwards and Eleanor Hurt.

Life on earth undergoes a complex change as meteorites begin to rain down from the dying star Eta Draconis. The world does not collapse, but old certainties disappear and a new mood falls over human societies. A road narrative set in Western Australia’s southwest, Eta Draconis follows two sisters as they survive in these complicated times. A poetic and compelling novel for the COVID moment.

UWA Publishing

The winner will receive $10,000 prize money, as well as manuscript development and a publishing contract with UWAP. Previous recipients include the inaugural winner, Extinctions by Josephine Wilson, which went on to win the 2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

For more information, including the full list of shortlisted manuscripts, visit UWA Publishing’s website.